top of page

The Double D launch party and Thought Bubble 2015

12th November – Double D launch party @ Gosh London

Thanks to Central London's traffic, I succeeded in being 45 minutes late for my own launch party. THANKS LONDON. The party was great fun though. We signed copies of the book, our friend Seb Patrick politely grilled us in a live Q&A, and then we all went to the pub. Frank Black/Black Francis of Pixies/Art Brut production fame came along and bought three copies. Three! If you've not bought one yet, think of Frank Black and his three copies and feel guilty. It's OK though, we signed a whole bunch of books for Gosh and you can buy one still if you fancy. Here's the handy link: http://www.goshlondon.com/product/double-d/

And here are Eddie and I with Frank Black (Photography by Hannah Goodwin):

Seb interrogates Eddie and I:

We had a playlist made up of – basically – the stuff I listened to while drawing Double D, all thrown at Spotify in a completely random order. Patrick Hernandez into Erik Satie? Um, yeah. Anyways, should you fancy a listen, please do so:

13th - 15th November - Thought Bubble Festival, Leeds

Our first convention! As exhibitors, anyways. I hope they're all this good. I've been to Thought Bubble a couple of times as a punter, but this is the first time I've gone with an actual book of my own to exhibit. We had a lot of fun, despite arriving just in time to miss the British Comics Awards on the Friday thanks to traffic on the M1. A theme emerges...

On the Saturday night, finally, for the first time ever, Team Double D all met. I've known Eddie for years. I met Colin at last year's Thought Bubble. But, despite being in daily contact with him during the production process for Double D, I've never met David, and given that Eddie is in Berlin, I'm in deepest, darkest Kent and David and Colin are in Glasgow, we had never met up as a group before. Here we are at the mid con party, shortly before seeing DMC of Run DMC perform a couple of hits.

L-R: Colin Bell, Steven Horry, Eddie Argos, David Cooper

Which was nice.

We got to hang out with/get ridiculously enthusiastic at all sorts of amazing people, and most importantly buy some comics. Alison Sampson very kindly gave me a copy of Genesis, a book she did for Image with Nathan Edmonson, which was great - really beautiful artwork - and I also recommend Tille Walden's I Love This Part, which is so good it actually hurts. Here's Eddie in the pub with Ricky Miller, a longtime friend of mine whose Metroland is one of my favourite comics of the last two years, Tille, and Kat Chapman.

Then I got tonsilitis, so missed our planned Berlin launch party, which was a shame. But then Double D featured in the Guardian Guide, and then in December, thanks to my friend Jon Dear, I ended up going to a special screening of the Doctor Who Christmas special, complete with Q&A and reception. We watched Doctor Who, we mingled, and I gave a copy of Double D to this guy, 'cos, well, you would, wouldn't you?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page